Bangladesh: At a Glance

Official Name People’s Republic of Bangladesh
Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman
Head of State Hon’ble President Mr. Md. Abdul Hamid
Head of Government Hon’ble Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina
Area 1,47,570 sq kms (56,977 sq miles)
Administrative Units 8 Divisions,  64 Districts, 490 Upazilas, 4562 Unions
Urban Local Government (City Corporations) 11
Municipalities 326
Official LanguageBangla
CurrencyTaka (1 USD = 83.96 Bangladeshi Taka Approx.)
TimeGMT+6 Hours
Population 164.7 million (2017)
Literacy rate 72.89% (2017)
Life Expectancy at Birth 72.49 years (2016)